Excellence and Innovation
in Canadian Theatre

Shortlist Announced for 2014 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre

Four remarkable playwrights have been selected as finalists for this year’s Siminovitch Prize in Theatre. “These four playwrights demonstrate the astonishing and wonderful diversity in writing for theatre in Canada,” said Jury Chair John Van Burek. “Our finalists are passionate, … Continued

Let’s get a real subjective conversation going

By Jillian Keiley (originally posted on As a director and producer, I have to read reviews of my shows. I would rather be boiled in a vat of Kelly Nestruck’s bike-ride-to-Montreal sweat. They’re important and, having come from a one-reviewer … Continued


Congratulations to Siminovitch Prize laureates who won 2014 Dora Mavor Moore Awards: Recipient Ronnie Burkett for Costume Design (General Theatre) and ProtégésMitchell Cushman for Best Production (Independent Theatre), Camellia Koo for Scenic Design (Independent Theatre), and Anusree Roy for New Play (Theatre for Young … Continued

Shortlist Announced for 2013 Siminovitch Prize for Theatre

Jury members Martine Beaulne (Montéal), Ann-Marie Kerr(Halifax), Janet Munsil (Victoria), John Van Burek (Chair, Toronto), and Bob White(Stratford) have deliberated and made their choices. “The Jury was uniformly thrilled,” says John Van Burek, “by the quality of the nominations and was frankly amazed by the extraordinary talent that has developed … Continued

Siminovitch Prize Partners

Presenting Sponsor