skip to Main Content

October 10, 2003

TORONTO – Canada’s richest theatre prize, the $100,000 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre, will be announced Tuesday, October 28, at Hart House, University of Toronto.

The Prize — awarded in alternate years to a director, a playwright and a designer — will be awarded this year to a professional theatre designer who has made a significant contribution to Canadian theatre in the field of set design, costume design, lighting design, or sound design.

The Prize will be awarded at a glittering invitation-only event hosted by renowned actress Fiona Reid and Stratford Festival Artistic Director Richard Monette with live music by The John Alcorn Trio.

The Siminovitch Prize was introduced in 2001 and dedicated to distinguished scientist Lou Siminovitch and his late wife Elinore, a playwright. The winner receives $100,000, of which $25,000 is awarded to a protégé or organization of the winner’s choice. Previous recipients of the Siminovitch Prize in Theatre are Daniel Brooks (in 2001, the inaugural year of the Prize, for Direction, protégé Chris Abraham) and Carole Fréchette (in 2002, for Playwriting, protégé Geneviève Billette).

The 2003 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre jury is chaired by Leonard McHardy, co-owner and co-founder of Theatrebooks in Toronto. The members of the jury are Martine Beaulne, one of Quebec’s most respected directors and actors; Denise Clarke, Associate Artist with Calgary’s One Yellow Rabbit Performance Theatre; New Brunswick-born set and costume designer Michael Eagan; and Dr. Natalie Rewa, a recognized authority of theatre design in Canada.

BMO Financial Group is the major sponsor of the Prize.

Back To Top