skip to Main Content

The Elinore and Lou Siminovitch Prize in Theatre and Theatre Ontario announce a


Applications Deadline: Friday, August 6th, 2004

The Siminovitch Prize and Theatre Ontario announce a call for applications to participate in an all expenses paid Master Class with the inaugural 2001 Siminovitch Prize winning director, Daniel Brooks. The workshop will take place on Monday, October 25, 2004 from 10am to 5pm in Toronto.

The Siminovitch Prize in Theatre was introduced in 2001 and dedicated to renowned scientist Lou Siminovitch and his late wife Elinore, a playwright. Sponsored by BMO Financial Group, Canada’s richest annual theatre arts award recognizes direction, playwriting and design in three-year cycles. The winner receives $100,000, of which $25,000 is awarded to a protégé or organization of the winner’s choice. The inaugural 2001 award was given to director Daniel Brooks who chose Chris Abraham as his protégé; the 2002 award went to playwright Carole Fréchette who chose Geneviève Billette; and the 2003 award went to designer Louise Campeau who chose two protégés, Magalie Amyot and Michèle Magnon. In 2004, the prize comes full circle and will again be honouring directors. For more information

Master Class Workshop
The Master Class workshop has been designed to celebrate one of the prime motivations behind the Siminovitch Prize: the importance of mentorship within our cultural community. The workshop will be an investigation into direction in an intimate environment with Master Class director Daniel Brooks. Selected participants will be working with an established text determined by Brooks, which participants will be notified about upon selection. It is expected that participants will have carefully read the text in advance to the workshop. The Master Class will be process driven with no presentation component. All workshop participants will be invited to attend the Siminovitch Prize Award ceremony and reception that will take place the following day on Tuesday, October 26, 2004 at Hart House Theatre.

The Master Class workshop is

  • Limited to a maximum of 10 participants (a minimum of two from Toronto).
  • Open to freelance directors and Artistic Directors who are Canadian citizens or have landed immigrant status.
  • Expected to involve a representation of participants from across the country.

Airfare, local transportation, hotel rooms and per diems will be covered for all participants attending from outside Toronto.*

Daniel Brooks
Director, writer, actor, and producer, Daniel Brooks is a prolific and versatile artist whose innovation and risk-taking has made him a leader within the Canadian cultural landscape. He has been recognised with accolades and awards for such productions as Here Lies Henry, The Noam Chomsky Lectures, House, Insomnia and Faust. His work has toured across the country and around the world. Recipient of the inaugural Siminovitch Prize, among the awards he has won or been nominated for are the Dora Mavor Moore Award, the Chalmers Award, The Edinburgh Fringe First Award and the Governor General’s Literary Award for Drama. He co-founded the Augusta Company with Don McKellar and Tracy Wright, helped build da da kamera as an international touring company, was an Associate Artist at Buddies in Bad Times, artist in residence at the Tarragon Theatre, has an on going association with Soulpepper Theatre, and is currently the new Artistic Director of Necessary Angel Theatre Company.

Master Class Participants Selection Process
Applicants are expected to have had previous directing experience. To be considered, applicants must submit a résumé with a one-page cover letter highlighting their directing experience and what kind of instruction in the craft of direction they seek. The deadline for submissions is Friday, August 6th, 2004. Applications received after this date will not be considered. The participants will be announced September 7th, 2004.

The jury to select the Master Class participants will be chaired by Janet Irwin, Past President of Theatre Ontario’s Board of Directors and will include Leonard McHardy, Siminovitch Jury Chair; Jacoba Knaapen, Siminovitch Producer; and Daniel Brooks, Master Class Director.

For more information please contact Andrew Soren at the coordinates below.

Applications can be sent by mail or by e-mail to:

Andrew Soren
Administrator, Siminovitch Prize in Theatre
Corporate Sponsorships, BMO Financial Group
55 Bloor St. West, 4th Floor
Toronto, On M4W 3N5
(416) 927-2771 Fax (416) 927-2325

Back To Top