Excellence and Innovation
in Canadian Theatre

Joan MacLeod

2011 Laureate, Playwright

Joan MacLeod’s plays include Jewel, Toronto, Mississippi, Amigo’s Blue Guitar, The Hope Slide, Little Sister, 2000, The Shape of A Girl, Homechild and Another Home Invasion. Her work has been translated into eight languages. She is the recipient of two Chalmers Canadian Play Awards, the Governor General’s Award, the Betty Mitchell Award, Dora Mavor Moore Award and the Jessie Richardson Award. For seven years she was a playwright-in-residence at Toronto’s Tarragon Theatre. Joan also writes poetry, prose and for television. Since 2004 she has worked at the University of Victoria as an Associate Professor in the Department of Writing. The Tarragon’s production of Another Home Invasion is currently on a national tour. The Shape of a Girl is also back touring with Green Thumb this year. It has been produced continuously since its premiere in 2001.

Read Ms. MacLeod’s Reflection | News Release

Siminovitch Prize Partners

Presenting Sponsor