skip to Main Content
Canada's $100,000 prize for theatre innovation
Canada's annual $100,000 prize recognizing excellence and innovation in theatre

2021 Nominations Now Open

About the Prize

Over a three-year cycle, the prize celebrates a professional director, playwright or designer, an acknowledged leader in the theatre whose work is transformative and influential. The Siminovitch Prize also encourages and supports emerging talent with a protégé prize awarded to a theatre artist chosen by the recipient.

In 2020, the Prize was awarded to playwright Tara Beagan, who selected Joelle Peters as the protégé.

Watch the 2020 ceremony

2020 Laureate

Tara Beagan
Tara Beagan is proud to be Ntlaka’pamux and, through her late father’s side, of Irish ancestry. She is cofounder/director of ARTICLE 11 with Andy Moro. Beagan served as Artistic Director of Native Earth Performing Arts from February 2011 to December 2013.

Latest News

07Apr 21
Dr. Lou Siminovitch (1920-2021)

It is with great sadness that we share the news of the passing of Dr. Lou Siminovitch. The following is a message from Siminovitch Prize Laureate John Mighton on what…

Read More »
29Mar 21
The Key to Creativity

Playwright, Elinore Siminovitch and molecular biologist, Lou Siminovitch had a marriage that beautifully symbolized the bond between arts and sciences. They understood first hand how both fields were in pursuit…

Read More »
Back To Top
×Close search