skip to Main Content

Nominations are welcome for designers who, through their body of work, have made a significant creative contribution to theatre in Canada and who are continuing to create work that demonstrates innovation and excellence.

The Siminovitch Prize jury has been charged with selecting a recipient who would most typically self-identify as “mid-career”. In other words, this is a prize for an artist whose career is perceived to be gaining significant momentum, rather than a lifetime achievement award. The Siminovitch Prize is intended to provide an artist who has created remarkable work to date with the freedom to deepen their practice and make an even more significant contribution to the field in the years to come. Nominees must have at least 10 years’ experience as professional designers, and will have developed a marked personal style or artistic approach to their craft, vision, techniques, interests and/or collaborations. In addition, the jury will consider the following aspects of the artist’s work: originality, sense of evolution, growing maturity, continuing experimentation, impact upon audiences, and influence upon younger artists.

Eligible artists must be a citizen or permanent resident of Canada, and work in English or French in the not-for-profit or commercial theatre sector in Canada. Issues regarding the eligibility of nominees are decided at the sole discretion of the jury.

Unless otherwise indicated, written materials must be provided in one of the following formats: PDF, DOC, DOCX, RTF.


Current members of the Board or staff of the Siminovitch Prize, and currently contracted workers including the Jury Chair and members of the Jury are ineligible for Siminovitch Prize in the year in which they serve, nor may they nominate or write a letter of support for a nominee. Full-time employees and board trustees of the National Arts Centre are not eligible to be awarded the Siminovitch Prize, in any year during which they are actively serving the National Arts Centre.

Nomination Procedure

Self nominations will not be considered. Completed nominations should be submitted electronically using the online form.


A national jury of distinguished members of the Canadian theatre community is chosen annually to select the Siminovitch Prize recipient. The Jury Chair leads the selection of the jury and presides over the deliberations.

Short List

The jury will select a short list of nominees for final consideration in October. The short-listed nominees are expected to be available to attend an awards event in November.

Back To Top